Jodie Foster Defends Kristen Stewart in Emotional Essay

Clarice Starling want the lambs — er — critics of K-Stew to stop “screaming”… now!

Jodie Foster published a very personal essay Wednesday in which she defended her Panic Room co-star Kristen Stewart against, among other things, the perils of today’s media.

Writing for The Daily Beast, the two-time Oscar-winning actress — who has been in the business since age three — lambasts the media for the way it has treated Stewart since she confessed to cheating on boyfriend Robert Pattinson with her married Snow White and the Huntsman director Rupert Sanders.

“In my era, through discipline and force of will, you could still manage to reach for a star-powered career and have the authenticity of a private life …” Foster, 49, writes. “Not anymore … I’ve said it before and I will say it again: if I were a young actor today I would quit before I started. If I had to grow up in this media culture, I don’t think I could survive it emotionally.”

“I would only hope that someone who loved me, really loved me, would put their arm around me and lead me away to safety,” she adds.

Kristen Stewart, Robert Pattinson Cheating Scandal: Celeb Reactions

joan rivers

adrianne curry

kathy griffin

damon lindelof

8 Photos

Foster goes on to write about the experience she shared with Stewart on the set of Panic Room, in 2001, recalling an 11-year-old child who was full of life and promise.

“I grew to love that kid,” she writes. “She turned 11 during our shoot and on her birthday, I organized a mariachi band to serenade her at the taco bar while she blew out her candles. She begrudgingly danced around a sombrero with me but soon rushed off to a basketball game with the grip and electric departments.”

Foster continues:

Her mother and I watched her jump around after the ball, hooting with every team basket. “She doesn’t want to be an actor when she grows up, does she?” I asked. Her mom sighed. “Yes … unfortunately.” We both smiled and shrugged with an ambivalence born from experience. “Can’t you talk her out of it?” I offered. “Oh, I’ve tried. She loves it. She just loves it.” More sighs. We watched her run around the court for a while, both of us silent, each thinking our own thoughts. I was pregnant at the time and found myself daydreaming of the child I might have soon. Would she be just like Kristen? All that beautiful talent and fearlessness … would she jump and dunk and make me so proud?

Foster concludes her essay by recalling a quote from her mother: “This too shall pass.”

tearful kristen stewart spotted in los angeles

Kristen Stewart

Kristen Stewart

Kristen Stewart

Kristen Stewart

Kristen Stewart

Kristen Stewart

7 Photos

“God, I hated that phrase. It always seemed so banal and out of touch, like she was telling me my pain was irrelevant,” she writes, before adding that after years of being in the business it finally makes sense.

“Eventually this all passes … You survive,” Foster reveals. “Hopefully in the process you don’t lose your ability to throw your arms in the air again and spin in wild abandon. That is the ultimate F.U. and-finally-the most beautiful survival tool of all. Don’t let them take that away from you.”

Robert Pattinson Makes First Public Appearance since scandal broke

Robert Pattinson First Public Appearance Since Kristen Stewart Cheating Scandal

Robert Pattinson First Public Appearance Since Kristen Stewart Cheating Scandal

Robert Pattinson First Public Appearance Since Kristen Stewart Cheating Scandal

Robert Pattinson First Public Appearance Since Kristen Stewart Cheating Scandal

Robert Pattinson First Public Appearance Since Kristen Stewart Cheating Scandal

Robert Pattinson First Public Appearance Since Kristen Stewart Cheating Scandal

9 Photos

On July 25, Stewart admitted to cheating on Pattinson, mere hours after Us Weekly published intimate photos of her with Sanders.

“I’m deeply sorry for the hurt and embarrassment I’ve caused to those close to me and everyone this has affected,” Stewart, 22, wrote in a statement. “This momentary indiscretion has jeopardized the most important thing in my life, the person I love and respect the most, Rob. I love him, I love him, I’m so sorry.”

What do you think of Foster’s essay? Do you agree with what she has to say? Sound off, below.

Celebuzz Single Player No Autoplay (CORE)
No changes are to be made to this player

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment